Longlist ,£50000 Prize, Winner Prediction

Sri Lankan author Shehan Karunatilak has been awarded the Booker Prize 2022 for his second novel The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida. The 47-year-old author is the second after Michael Ondaatje to be awarded the award in 1992 for ‘The English Patient’, to win a literary prize of £50,000 (GBP) at a ceremony in London on October 2023.

The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida. is the story of the photographer of its title, who, after his death in 1990, reaches a place that looks like a visa office in heaven. Not knowing what killed him, Mali has seven moons to approach the people he loves the most. In the meantime, there seems to be a plethora of pictures of the atrocities of the civil war in his hands, which if they come to the fore, will shake the country.

Booker Prize Winner 2023

Booker Prize Winner will be announced soon and the Last year’s Winner Sri Lankan author Shehan Karunatilaka on October 2022 Monday has become the Booker Prize Winner in 2022 for the novel. Karunatilaka has been given this award for the book The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida. The official verified Twitter handle of the Booker Prize tweeted that we are happy to announce that the winner of the Booker Prize 2022 is Shehan Karunatilaka. The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida. is the second novel by Shehan Karunatilaka.

The novel is a raucous, poignantly funny satire set in the midst of the deadly devastation of Sri Lanka beset by civil war. Shehan Karunatilaka is one of the best writers in Sri Lanka and apart from his novels, he has also written songs, screenplays, and travel stories. The Sri Lankan author started thinking about it in 2009 after the end of the civil war. Then there was a heated debate over how many civilians were killed and whose fault it was.

Elon Musk Net Worth

Johnny Depp Net Worth

Amber Heard Net Worth

Liz Truss Net Worth

Booker Prize 2023 Nominees 

Title Original language Author Author Nationality Translator Translator Nationality UK Imprint
Boulder Catalan Eva Baltasar Catalan Julia Sanches Brazilian And Other Stories
Whale Korean Cheon Myeong-kwan Korean Chi-Young Kim Korean/ American Europa Editions
The Gospel According to the New World French Maryse Condé French Richard Philcox British World Editions
Standing Heavy French  GauZ’  Ivorian Frank Wynne Irish MacLehose Press
Time Shelter Bulgarian Georgi Gospodinov Bulgarian Angela Rodel American  Weidenfeld & Nicolson 
Is Mother Dead Norwegian Vigdis Hjorth Norwegian Charlotte Barslund British/Danish Verso Fiction
Jimi Hendrix Live in Lviv Russian Andrey Kurkov Ukrainian Rueben Woolley British MacLehose Press
The Birthday Party French Laurent Mauvignier French Daniel Levin Becker American Fitzcarraldo Editions
While We Were Dreaming German Clemens Meyer German Katy Derbyshire British/German Fitzcarraldo Editions
Pyre Tamil Perumal Murugan Indian Aniruddhan Vasudevan Indian Pushkin Press
Still Born Spanish Guadalupe Nettel Mexican Rosalind Harvey British Fitzcarraldo Editions
A System So Magnificent It Is Blinding Swedish Amanda Svensson Swedish Nichola Smalley British Scribe UK
Ninth Building Chinese Zou Jingzhi Chinese Jeremy Tiang Singaporean Honford Star

Booker Prize 2022 Nominees 

Author Title Genre(s) Country Publisher
Shehan Karunatilaka(Winner) The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida Novel Sri Lanka Sort of Books
NoViolet Bulawayo Glory Novel Zimbabwe/USA Vintage Publishing
Percival Everett The Trees Novel USA Influx Press
Alan Garner Treacle Walker Novel England HarperCollins
Claire Keegan Small Things Like These Novel Ireland Faber & Faber
Elizabeth Strout Oh, William! Novel USA Penguin Books

What is a Booker Prize?

Like Oscar Award, Film Fare Award, etc. are awarded for outstanding work in the world of cinema, similarly, many awards are given for better contributions to the field of literature. One of them is Booker Prize and now via this article, we will talk about the Booker Prize and its winner. The Booker Prize is awarded jointly by the Booker Company and the British Publishing Association.

This is a prize that is said to be Britain’s biggest prize given in the field of literature, which comes after the Nobel Prizes. Every year great writers who write books are honored with this award. In this, cash is also provided to the winners along with the prize and apart from this many other facilities are provided to them.

Angela Lanbury Net Worth

Nicki Minaj Net Worth

Loretta Lynn Net Worth

History of the Booker Prize

The Booker Prize was started as the Man Booker International Prize and it was initially a biennial award, and there was no stipulation that the literary work must be written in a language other than English. The prize money for Booker Prize was originally £21,000 and was increased to £50,000 in 2002.

Indian Booker Prize Winners

Author Title Year
V.S. Naipaul In a Free State 1971
Salman Rushdie Midnight’s Children 1981
Aravind Adiga The White Tiger 2008
Kiran Desai The Inheritance of Loss 2006
Arundhati Roy The God of Small Things 1997

List of Booker Prize Winners- 1969-2023

Year Name of the Author Book Title
1969 P. H. Newby Something to Answer For
1970 Bernice Rubens The Elected Member
1971 V. S. Naipaul In a Free State
1972 John Berger G.
1973 J. G. Farrell The Siege of Krishnapur
1974 Nadine Gordimer The Conservationist
1975 Ruth Prawer Jhabvala Heat and Dust
1976 David Storey Saville
1977 Paul Scott Staying On
1978 Iris Murdoch The Sea, the Sea
1979 Penelope Fitzgerald Offshore
1980 William Golding Rites of Passage
1981 Salman Rushdie Midnight’s Children
1982 Thomas Keneally Schindler’s Ark
1983 J. M. Coetzee Life & Times of Michael K
1984 Anita Brookner Hotel du Lac
1985 Keri Hulme The Bone People
1986 Kingsley Amis The Old Devils
1987 Penelope Lively Moon Tiger
1988 Peter Carey Oscar and Lucinda
1989 Kazuo Ishiguro The Remains of the Day
1990 A. S. Byatt Possession
1991 Ben Okri The Famished Road
1992 Michael Ondaatje The English Patient
1993 Roddy Doyle Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha
1994 James Kelman How Late It Was, How Late
1995 Pat Barker The Ghost Road
1996 Graham Swift Last Orders
1997 Arundhati Roy The God of Small Things
1998 Ian McEwan Amsterdam
1999 J. M. Coetzee Disgrace
2000 Margaret Atwood The Blind Assassin
2001 Peter Carey True History of the Kelly Gang
2002 Yann Martel Life of Pi
2003 DBC Pierre Vernon God Little
2004 Alan Hollinghurst The Line of Beauty
2005 John Banville The Sea
2006 Kiran Desai The Inheritance of Loss
2007 Anne Enright The Gathering
2008 Aravind Adiga The White Tiger
2009 Hilary Mantel Wolf Hall
2010 Howard Jacobson The Finkler Question
2011 Julian Barnes The Sense of an Ending
2012 Hilary Mantel Bring Up the Bodies
2013 Eleanor Catton The Luminaries
2014 Richard Flanagan The Narrow Road to the Deep North
2015 Marlon James A Brief History of Seven Killings
2016 Paul Beatty The Sellout
2017 George Saunders Lincoln in the Bardo
2018 Anna Burns Milkman
2019 Margaret Atwood The Testaments
2020 Douglas Stuart Shuggie Bain
2021 Damon Galgut The Promise
2022 Shehan Karunatilaka The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida
2023 TBA TBA

Leave a comment

About Harry Maguire BockFord FootBall League Finals Useful Tricks And Tips To Sit Less And Move More Every Day Upsc Epfo Admit Card 2023 8 Top Ott Releases In June